This blog has moved to a new location.

You can now read it on BKWine Magazine.

Please change your bookmarks and RSS feeds accordingly.

And do subscribe to our free wine newsletter, the BKWine Brief!

All info on our wine and food tours are now on

South Africa’s wine country is organised in three levels

>> Thursday, February 10, 2011

Much have changed in South African wine production over a few decades. Today they use a classification system called Wines of Origin (WO) based on three levels:

  1. regions,
  2. districts, and 
  3. wards. 
There are four regions, with varying number of districts. Each district can have several wards. It is questionable if today there are any distinct differences in character between wards (and perhaps even districts and regions) but perhaps that will develop over time. It may be more likely that some regions, districts as well as wards will become well known names. It is, after all, a young wine country. Here aare the districts and their regions:

Districts in Coastal Region
- Swartland
- Stellenbosch
- Tygerberg
- Cape Point
- Constantia (ward)
- Tulbagh
- Paarl
- Darling

Klein Karoo region:
- Kalitzdorp
- Langeberg-Garcia

Olifant River region:
- Lutzville Valley
- Citrusdal Valley
- Citrusdal Mountain

Breede River Valley region
- Breedekof
- Worcester
- Robertson
- Swellendam

Districts that don't belong to a region: Overberg, Walker Bay, Douglas, Cape Agulhas, Plettenberg Bay

Wards that don't belong to a region: Ceres, Cederberg, Prince Albert Valley, Swartberg, Lambert's Bay, Lower Orange

However, this listing should be read with a certain caution. The WO system seems not yet quite stable and different (official) documents have different listings. Here are e.g. two sources with different details: (pdf) and


Post a Comment

The blog has moved. Here is the new location: BKWine Magazine Blog.

  © Blogger template Webnolia by 2009

Back to TOP